Uniting-Church-logo-e1332914741552 1

The Uniting Church

The Uniting Church in Australia was formed on June 22, 1977, as a union of three churches: the Congregational Union of Australia, the Methodist Church of Australasia and the Presbyterian Church of Australia.  Toowong Uniting Church is part of the Queensland Synod and the Bremer-Brisbane Presbytery

Vital statistics

The Uniting Church is the third largest Christian denomination in Australia. It has around 2,800 congregations, 51 presbyteries and seven synods. Uniting Church members number 300,000 while 1.3 million Australians claim an association.

Uniting Churches are found throughout Australia.

The church has a special ministry, through Frontier Services, to the people of the outback – some of its ministers are “patrol padres” and “flying padres”.

The Uniting Aboriginal and Islander Christian Congress is the Aboriginal arm of the church, with 10,000 to 15,000 Aboriginal and Islander people involved.

From 5-7 per cent of Uniting Church members worship in languages other than English, in 25 different language groupings plus various Aboriginal tribal languages.

The church is diverse, with a range of views and practices in theological and spiritual emphasis, worship style, social opinions and mission focus.

It has 48 schools, ranging from long-established schools with large enrolments to small recently established low-fee schools.

More than 20,000 people are employed by the church in community services work, particularly in aged care, Lifeline, hospitals, nursing, family support services, youth services, and care for the homeless.

©2012 Toowong Uniting Church